January and February Ipsy!

So I have been slacking and completely forgot to upload my Ipsy bag for January. But, no worries, we’ll just do a combo post today!

January 2016 IpsyThe January bag is so cute! I really have no complaints about the bag itself. It’s sturdy, large capacity, and has a sturdy zipper. As for the products, I’m going to review (as always) from meh to yaass!

Lasting Smiles Lip Balm in Peppermint Creme
“Lasting Smiles® lip balms are organic and fairtrade certified with pure and moisturizing ingredients sourced from small scale global farming cooperatives….With coconut oil, shea, and cocoa butter for soft hydrated and healthy lips.”
That’s all well and good, but let’s be honest, I pay $.99 for my chap stick. (Thank you Blistex). I don’t want chap stick in my $10 monthly bag. Case closed.

City Color Cosmetics Eyeshadow Trio in Falling Leaves
I tend towards brown/bronze eyeshadows, but something about the color seems off enough that I’m not excited about this. I don’t hate this, but I don’t love it. The colors, in the pan, almost seem muted. I wish I could coherently put into words why I am just meh about this travel trio.

theBalm Cosmetics Mr. Write (Now) (Jack B. Bronze)
This is third on the list, but I am actually really excited about this! This liner might be next on the list, but the excitement levels are so much higher! Okay, I never line my lines in anything other than black. (I should be more adventurous, but I’m not. Sue me.) But I love love looove using liners as eyeshadows because they don’t go anywhere! It provides so much color payoff! Anyway, I’m excited to use this color in the near future.

Coastal Scents Pearl Shadow Angle Large Brush
I struggled with putting this third or second, but since it’s my first brush from Ipsy, I boosted it up a notch. I has a weakness for brushes, and I’ve been wanting to try Coastal Scents’s products for a while. They are pretty comparable to BH Cosmetics which (if you look at my last post here) I really love shopping there. Anyway, my only reservation is that this is on the larger end of the eye brush scale and I have small, hooded eyes, so there might be some learning curve.

skyn ICELAND Travel Size Glacial Cleansing Cloths
This is in my highest spot because of pure luck that I ran out of my other wipes and actually got to use this. I cheated, I know. Anyway, these feel like a soft version of those textured Lysol wipes. One wipe does a great job at removing a full face of makeup (including eye liner and mascara) and it doesn’t leave my face feeling greasy. I would totally buy these for travel purposes only in the future.

February 2016 Ipsy

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Oil
Why, you might ask, is a Smashbox item on the meh end of my list? Well, let me tell you! My oily ass face does NOT need oil ANYTHING being put on it. That said, there is no way I’d ever use it. I appreciate getting primers and I like Smashbox, but I definitely didn’t come out on top with this one.

Naked Cosmetics Mica Pigment (Espresso Brown)
My swatch of this felt amazing. The pigmentation is there and the color is definitely my cup of tea. If you’ve ready any of my other posts, you’ll know that I’m a bronze girl! Honestly, this isn’t really close to the meh end of the spectrum, but I had to put it somewhere! I decided to put this second ONLY because I am bad with using loose pigment. I get that crap everywhere no matter what I do.

Seraphine Botanicals Carot + Rose Hydrating Creme
This lotion is really good! It smells amazing and is thick enough to properly moisturize, but it’s oily at all. The description claims that it’s long lasting, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. I will say, I wash my hands a lot though, so I’m sure it would be longer lasting if I didn’t do that.

Luxie Beauty Flat Definer Brush #221
The description calls this a “tapered blending brush” but the title of the brush is much more accurate. I can never have to many brushes, and currently only have one liner/defining brush, so I am really happy with this! It is described as having a taper, and that is very true! I plan to try this brush out at a brow brush and see how that goes.

OGX Quenching Coconut Curls Curling Butter
“Infused with coconut oil, sweet honey and citrus oils, this versatile hair butter helps to boost your curls’ hydration. Leave it in for a moisturizing treatment or rinse it out for use as a deep conditioner.”
The winner for the omg slot is this curling butter! I LOVE getting hair products to try and this product will definitely be getting some use. First of all, the ingredients are favorable for me and the fact that it is marketed as multi use is a big YES! The butter smells so amazing and, yes, it’s a butter so it’s thicker (think shea butter), but it dissolves really well (think coconut oil). Also, guess who has twists in and will need to be doing a deep condition/moisture treatment when she takes her twists out! That’s right, this girl!

I had really good luck in these past two months! Between the two Ipsy bags, I only got to meh products! What did you get in your bags? Link me to your review/opening!

Leave a Reply

