Crochet Braids: Twisted Style

Happy New Year readers! I decided to start the new year off with a new style! My first set of crochet braids. I usually try to do my own hair, but I cannot cornrow well enough to do crochet braids, so I had my friend’s cousin do it for me along with a much needed trim. Now, I know this post is about crochet braids, but I have a confession. I haven’t had a trim since cutting my hair…last JANUARY! I know, I know. What was I thinking? Honestly, I was just nervous about going to a natural hair salon and being charged $50 for a trim or going to a regular salon and having my hair straightened (to death). Well, that’s exactly what happened. It was painful (figuratively) getting my hair straightened after not putting heat on it for over two years. *sigh*

IMAG2951

Anyway! I had about 14 braids across with one going around the back of my head.

IMAG2954

Another photo showing how the braids crossed over.

Overall, it took about 6-7 hours to get my hair done, start to finish. But, a bulk of it was getting my hair flat ironed and trimmed. The braiding and installation was about 3-4 hours max! What do you guys think? What are your experiences with crochet braids? What’s your favorite protective style?

Leave a Reply

