August Hair Favorites (Update)

August Favorites

Cantu Shea Butter Coconut Curling Cream

This is has been my go to cream for most of the summer! I do a lot of outdoors activities and the Cantu Curling Cream has no problems locking the moisture in. Unlike the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie, I don’t need to reapply as often due to the heavier consistency. But, at the same time, it doesn’t weight my hair down as long as I don’t slap it on real thick.

La Tourangelle Virgin Organic Coconut Oil

I’ll start by being 100%. I’ve never used any other coconut oil for any extended amount of time. I’ve been using this (same) jar of oil since January (my BC) and I’ve made it about halfway through. I found this for about $10 at Target in their grocery aisle, so it’s crazy easy to find and is super cheap. The jar itself is a bit heavy, but I have traveled with this without any leaking issues (even when it warms up and turns into it’s oil form). On top of it’s hair benefits, I’ve used it on my cuticles, my skin (as a lotion), and to shave under my arms (yea I know, weird). Overall, I love how easy this is to spread and there is no overwhelming coconut smell when fully applied.

Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow & Restore Leave-In Conditioner

This product is actually the newest to my regimen and it’s my favorite! I had previously been using the Kinky-Curly Knot Today Leave In Conditioner/Detangler but the slip this provides is SO much better! Now, I’m not knocking the Kinky-Curly, but I feel like this just spreads so effortlessly and it smells amazing. One caveat is that the consistency is really weird. It’s has a thick, liquidy consistency, so I feel it takes a little longer to find an easy way to spread this, but once you find what works for you, I find that I ended up using so much less product than when I was using the Kinky-Curly.

Eco Styler

Eco Styler Olive Oil Styling Gel

This isn’t really a favorite per say, but it’s something that I use constantly and haven’t had real issues with. This is supposed to be alcohol free and provide deep conditioning, which will help lock in moisture. Also, this is flake free! No gel flakes at all! A bonus is this gel provides a bit of UV protection. As much as I am out in the sun, I appreciate the extra protection. I do find that this gel doesn’t work well against my heavy workouts. It sweats right out. And it doesn’t provide very good edge control either.

Thanks for reading about my August Favorites! What are some of your current hair-care favorites?

One thought on “August Hair Favorites (Update)

  1. Pingback: HOTD: No Cut Bangs! | The Sporty Natural

Leave a Reply

