Depotting and Repairing Powders

BH Cosmetics Contour Palette

I’ve had this BH Cosmetics Contour and Blush palette for a while. In fact, this was before they added a similar palette to the line-up, but I believe it’s the Contour & Blush 1. This is the palette that I used to practice and (dare I say) perfect by contouring. In fact, I love the shades of these so much, that I have a hard time not coming back to them.

Inside view

Inside view

Long story short (the long story will be in a future review), I never travel with this palette because look at the mess the broken white powder makes! (Yes, I’ve actually fixed this once before.) It came to me, brand new, with a broken white powder. I could have shipped it back, but after looking at reviews, it seems to be a pretty common issue. But, because of that, when I travel, I have to use my alternate contour methods. (Boo!)

BH Cosmetics contour palette

During depotting

So, what do I FINALLY do? I decide to depot my go-to colors. I only really wanted the light tan and brown shades (the center column), but a girl has to practice! I used the lighter to heat up the sections under the palette of each pot that I wanted to remove, then wedged the spatula under the pot. I would repeat that process until the pot lifted enough for me to cut the plastic and glue with the box cutter. So, I depotted a total of four pots, and broke every single one of them in varying degrees of failure.

Supplies

Lucky for you, that means this Z-palette post turns into a tutorial as well. Now, it’s time to pull out the Alcohol (70% minimum), a spatula (aka cuticle pusher in my case), and something to press the powder. I used the cover to my tea filter because these pots are HUGE! Most people use varying sized coins for their blushes and eye shadows.

Broken powder

Broken powder

Here is what my first attempt at depotting resulted. I did a much better job with the other three pots.

Crushed powder

Crushed powder

Use the spatula to break the pieces into smaller chunks/powder.

Powder Repair 3

Saturated in alcohol

Saturated in alcohol

Pour alcohol over the pot until completely saturated and forms what looks like a clay. (For eye shadows or smaller pots in general, I would recommend an eye dropper because you don’t want to over saturate the powder).

Smoothed results. Waiting to dry.

Smoothed results. Waiting to dry.

Smooth the mixture with the spatula (don’t worry if it’s not pretty). Wait for it to dry. This step can take anywhere from a few hours to a day. This specific pot shown took the most time (over night) to dry/set.

Final results

Final results

I didn’t take a photo of the pressing step, but I placed a piece of tissue over the pot and pressed down hard on each on. And this is the final result!

Shadows and powders added to Z Palette

Shadows and powders added to Z Palette

My Z-Palette is (almost) ready to go! Pictured are my three pots from my contour kit and four E.L.F eye shadows.

If you have any other suggestions for making the depotting process easier, I am all ears!

Leave a Reply

