AdvoCare 10 Day Cleanse Review

For those of you who have never heard of AdvoCare (like me a few months ago), AdvoCare is a health and wellness company. The big thing it’s known for is it’s 24 Day Challenge where the user follows a supplement plan for 24 days while eating healthy and increasing water intake. I learned about this company through my apartment complex when they hosted a multi-vendor trunk show. Honestly, I was skeptical about it as I am with any company that pushes any sort of weight loss program, but the girls were nice and gave me some free samples of their natural energy drink mix, which actually tasted pretty good. After going back to my apartment and reading further into it, I still wasn’t sold, though it sounded “interesting”.
The full 24 days are broken into two sections: the cleanse phase and the max phase for a total price of just under $200. Yea, pretty steep. So, after reading a whole bunch of reviews, I took the plunge and found the full set online for about $50 cheaper. It’s still expensive, but I didn’t buy through a distributor (which I’ll talk about later), so no one to hound me during the process. As I mentioned before, the first 10 days is the Cleanse Phase. It uses the Spark, OmegaPlex, and Herbal Cleanse products. The cleanse regimen is very strict in comparison to max phase. Basically, no processed food or drinks plus a few other things. That cuts out: white flower (rice, bread, pasta), cheese/dairy (also “in moderation” and recommended low fat), pork/beef, etc. Also, no alcohol. (That was fun being the weirdo sitting with a water eating cherries and strawberries while we’re out at Happy Hour.)

Out of all the food that I couldn’t eat, I only found that I really missed cheese, especially for breakfast. But for the first weak, I cooked up my lunch and dinner for the whole week. My lunch consisted of a turkey wrap/taco, while my dinner was this wild rice mixture (quinoa, black rice, and other random things) and chicken breast. They were good and I had no problem following the mental meal plan that I had created for myself. The first three days, my stomach was a little bubbly (if you know what I mean). The herbal cleanse fiber drink mix (which I got in peaches and cream) might have been the cause, but I can’t be too sure. Also, I started the week off really low in energy thanks to my bike ride on Saturday and Sunday morning, followed by a double header softball game Sunday night, so I wasn’t putting my best food forward.
But, as I prepared my meal, I quickly learned that there is no food guidance in terms of calorie recommendations. I could figure that out on my own (and have done so in the past), but this challenge didn’t even touch on the topic, other than referencing serving sizes of protein and vegetables. Some of the reviews I read complained about the fiber drink. As I said, I got the Peaches and Cream flavored, and I honestly don’t mind it. It has a slight chalky flavor, but texture wise, it’s a little thick, but nothing horrible. Some people claim to not be able to get it down without gagging because of how thick it is. I can only say that I might not have a problem with it because I am used to drinking extremely thick, textured smoothies and this fiber mix is nothing in comparison. (Note, do NOT let it sit though. Mix it and drink it immediately, or else it’ll definitely not be drinkable.) Also in the Herbal Cleanse package are multivitamin and pro biotic tablets. Nothing special that you can’t get at any health aisle. The same goes for the OmegaPlex. It’s a basic omega-3 fatty acid. *shrug*

By far, the best thing in the cleanse phase is the Spark. It’s a great tasting energy drink that you can take up to two times a day. I have to admit that I’ll probably continue buying the spark after I’m done with the cleanse. One spark packet has replaced my two-three cups of coffee (plus creamer and sugar) a day habit. Even on the first day of my cleanse (after going to bed at 11:300pm and waking up at 5am) I felt better than I could have hoped from coffee.
And of course, the weight portion. I ended up only losing like 2-3lbs, which is something, but nothing close to the 10lbs people were claiming in the reviews I was reading. The only logical way I can see that amount of weight loss to happen is if a severely overweight, poor eating person started this program. Then, yea, it’s possible. I’ve lost no inches in my waist (which let’s be honest, is all any girl cares about). So, what are is my final review of the cleanse phase? For the money, it’s not really worth it. Get a good multi-vitamin, omega-3, and pro biotic and start portioning meals better. It’s really the same thing! If you have a strong dependency on coffee and would like to ween yourself off, I definitely to recommend the spark. It’s really good and gives a great amount of energy without the crash that (I) experience with coffee. It is “expensive” but I’m sure no more expensive than getting Starbucks everyday. Keep an eye out for my review of the Max Phase after 14 days!

Leave a Reply

